Thomas Fellow is a musician with an almost inexhaustible supply of innovative energy. He is a first rate acoustic guitarist, a stunning virtuoso and is considered one of the best musical collaborators in the world. In addition, his name is also associated with the development of the pioneering education program "Acoustic Guitar (concert music, world music, jazz, pop)" at the “University of Music Dresden” (Germany), the artistic direction of the "European Guitar Award" and for his work as the author of the comprehensive educational work for guitar as an accompanying instrument ("FELLOW GUITAR BOOK").
Portrait: Thomas Fellow

Biography

Thomas Fellow was born in 1966 in Leipzig and had his first guitar lessons at the local music school at the age of 7. At 16 and with several prizes in national competitions to his name, he enrolled at the “University of Music Weimar”, first in the preliminary study year, followed by undergraduate, postgraduate and master classes with Professors Monika and Jürgen Rost. At the age of 19 he was the only guitar soloist entered into the official catalogue of the artists' agency of the German Democratic Republic, which at that time held a monopoly on placing musicians in prestigious concert series and at international venues.

As a musician

During his time as a concert guitarist, he won prizes at several international competitions (including Esztergom and Markneukirchen), played as a soloist with prominent orchestras such as the Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Chamber Orchestra of Berlin, took over the premiere of dedicated works by Carlo Domeniconi and Jaime Zenamon and has performed in India, Brazil, USA, Russia and many European cities. He finished his classic career with a concert at the Berlin Philharmonic in 1992 to follow the music of his heart.

In 1991, he and the singer Constanze Friend formed the duo Friend ‘n Fellow. After more than 1500 concerts and more than 100.000 sold CDs it is considered the most successful project of its kind in Europe. They have toured the world from China (Beijing - China Millennium Park) to the USA (New York - World Trade Center) and shared the stage with Luther Allison, Ray Charles, Tommy Emmanuel and Al Jarreau among others.

> www.friendnfellow.de

Thomas founded his second musical project in 2000, a collaboration with guitarist Stephan Bormann, the successful Hands on Strings which has seen the release of four critically acclaimed albums. They received invitations to prestigious festivals in Rome (I), Columbus (USA) und Hamburg (GER).

> www.handsonstrings.de

Since 2012 he is also collaborating with Reentko (Germany) and two true legends of the classical guitar Pavel Steidl (Czech) and Zoran Dukic (Croatia) in the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET to build bridges between the tradition of the concert instrument guitar and modern sounds from worldmusic and fingerstyle. Right after the concert debut they got invitations from leading festivals worldwide. With their debut album "DANZA" the quartet played several concerts in America and Europa, among others Mexico, the USA, France, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, a longer tour through Colombia and a concert at the renowned Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

> www.europeanguitarquartet.com

As a teacher

Thomas Fellow is a professor of acoustic guitar (concert music, world music, jazz, pop) at the "Carl Maria von Weber" University of Music in Dresden, an educational program which Fellow himself established and developed. The innovative, contemporary approach of combining existing fundamental elements of classical and jazz guitar education with the richness of folk influences is unique in Germany

In addition, he directs the seminar "World Music / Improvisation" at the Weimar University of Music and is a frequent guest lecturer at universities (including Capital University in Columbus - USA, Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica Granada - Spain and Anton Bruckner University, Linz - Austria) and in various festivals in Malaysia, Italy, Austria, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Germany.

> Teaching

As a composer and author

Concert music by Fellow have been premiered at the Vogtland Music Festival and the Berlin Festival for Guitar and Chamber Music (Fantasy for guitar and string quartet). He is also the composer of film scores having written the music for a television documentary about the tenor, Jose Carreras. He received the “Gellert Prize”, the art award of the cultural area of Leipzig, for his composition "9 pm" (for 2 / 3 guitars).

homas Fellow is the author of a groundbreaking teaching book for the guitar as an accompanying instrument. This comprehensive textbook was published in December 2009 by Schott Music. Since April 2016 he is publishing together with SCHOTT MUSIC a series of sheet music, which is called FELLOW GUITAR MUSIC COLLECTION (Vol. 1- Medusa, Vol.2 - Pocket Fantasies, Vol. 3 - Fingerfood, Vol. 4 - Recital)

> FellowGuitarBook

As initiator

Thomas Fellow initiated Thuringia's Guitar/World Music Festival (1996) and the String Spring Festival in Dresden, which was founded in 2000. He also scooped the debute European Guitar Award, which first took place in Dresden in 2006 and which honors the best young creative guitarists from all over Europe. Due to its high-profile jury, this competition has been exceptionally well regarded since the outset.

In addition to various artistic competition achievements, Fellow was also a jury member at the German Music Instrument Prize.

> European Guitar Award

As record label founder

Together with the cardiologist Prof. Dr. Hubert Seggewiß he founded 2014 the record label DOCTOR HEART MUSIC. Defined goal is it to grant the artists absolute freedom and the best conditions to develop and present their projects and recordings at the best. A special focus lies on music out of the following sections: Song, Worldmusic, concert music and Jazz. Experimenting close to musical borderlines is just as welcome as a certain "Pop-Appeal". Among the artists of DOCTOR HEART MUSIC are established acts like FRIEND 'N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS and the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET as well as promising newcomer like ANTOINE BOYER & SAMUELITO and MISS O'PAQUE.

> www.drheartmusic.com

Appearances

New York City (World Trade Center), New Delhi (ficci Auditorium), Beijing (China Millenium Park), Shanghai (Anting New Town Open Air), St. Petersburg (Glinka Kapelle), Paris (Elyssees Montmartre), London (The 100 Club), Wien (Radiokulturhaus ORF), Amsterdam (Concertgebouw), Warschau (National Philharmonic Hall), Krakow (Wawel), Zürich (Blues&Soul Weekend), Luzern (Lucerne Festival, Blue Balls Festival), Rom (Festival of the Nations), Barcelona (Festival de la Porta Ferrada), Malaysia (Penang Jazz Festival), Monterrey Guitar Festival (Mexico), Kuala Lumpur, Budapest (Budapest Guitar Festival), Rijeka (Kastav Festival, Bratislava (Bratislava Jazz Days)Belo Horizonte, Moskau, Bombay, Calcutta, Madras, Bangalore, Bogota, Cali, Baranquilla, Medellin, Belgrad, Budapest, Prag, Liechtenstein, Wrozlaw, Poznan, Gdynia, Toulouse, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, Orleans, Avignon, Salzburg, Linz, Innsbruck, Basel, Bern, Genf, Göteborg, Kosice, Mikulov, Dubrovnik...

...with the following orchestras and musicians:

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester
Orchester mit Solisten der Komischen Oper Berlin
Schweriner Philharmonie
Leipziger Streichquartett
Ensemble Amarcord
Peer Arne Glorvingen
Oscar Andrade
Raul Aliaga
Luther Allison
Tommy Emmanuel
Bernard Allison
Ray Charles
Al Jarreau
Dee Dee Bridgewater
Maceo Parker
Simply Red

Press

They are fantastic!


Tommy Emmanuel über Hands on Strings

You knocked me out with your playing!


Bill Evans über Thomas / Friend 'n Fellow

Killing! It absolutely sounds like a whole band!


Tommy Emmanuel über Friend 'n Fellow

Top class guitarist


Times of India

Un guitariste acoustique genial


Cargo de Nuit/France

Sein Spiel ist einfach perfekt, in technischer
   wie in geschmacklicher Hinsicht.


Jazzpodium

Was er auf den sechs Saiten bot, bedarf der Superlative,
   um es auch nur annähernd zu beschreiben


Mitteldeutsche Zeitung

Deux »F« d'exeption


La Republique/France über FNF

Ein Duo von Weltniveau


Welt am Sonntag über FNF

traumwandlerisch, einzigartig


Akustik Gitarre über FNF

Ein Feuerwerk groovender Virtuosität


Süddeutsche Zeitung über FNF

..das soll ihnen erstmal jemand nachmachen.


Jazzpodium über HOS

Und der Hörer badet in ... zeitloser und perfekter Schönheit


Akustik Gitarre HOS

Es fenomenal! Bravo.


Hopkinson Smith über Hands on Strings »Offroad«

Grandios...einzigartig....beneidenswert


Thomas Müller Pering über FNF

Absolutely great. And when I say great, I mean great!


Fred Wesley

The sound of the new century


Luther Allison über FNF

I really enjoy your work


Al Jarreau über FNF

Thomas Fellow ist ein Musiker mit einer fast unerschöpflichen innovativen Energie. Er ist ein akustischer Gitarrist ersten Ranges, ein atemberaubender Virtuose und gilt als einer der besten musikalischen Begleiter weltweit. Darüber hinaus ist sein Name auch verbunden mit dem Aufbau der wegweisenden Ausbildung „AKUSTISCHE GITARRE (Konzertmusik, Worldmusic, Jazz, Pop)“ an der Hochschule für Musik in Dresden, der künstlerischen Leitung des »European Guitar Award« und mit seiner Arbeit als Verfasser eines umfassenden Lehrwerkes für die Gitarre als Begleitinstrument („FELLOWGUITARBOOK“).
Portrait: Thomas Fellow

Biografie

Thomas Fellow wurde 1966 in Leipzig geboren und erhielt seinen ersten Gitarrenunterricht im Alter von 7 Jahren an der dortigen Bezirksmusikschule. Mit 16 Jahren und nach einigen Preisen bei nationalen Wettbewerben wurde er an der Musikhochschule Weimar immatrikuliert, zunächst im Vorstudienjahr, danach folgten Grundstudium, Aufbaustudium und Meisterklasse bei den Professoren Monika und Jürgen Rost. Bereits im Alter von 19 Jahren wurde er (als einziger Gitarrensolist) in den Katalog der Künstleragentur der DDR übernommen, welche damals das Monopol zur Vermittlung in renommierte Konzertreihen und an internationale Spielorte hatte.

Als Musiker

In seiner Zeit als Konzertgitarrist gewann er Preise bei verschiedenen internationalen Wettbewerben (u.a. Esztergom und Markneukirchen), spielte als Solist mit herausragenden Orchestern wie z.B. dem Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester Berlin, übernahm die Uraufführung gewidmeter Werke u.a. von Carlo Domeniconi und Jaime Zenamon und konzertierte in Indien, Brasilien, den USA, Russland und vielen europäischen Metropolen. Mit einem Konzert in der Philharmonie Berlin 1992 beendete er seine "klassische" Laufbahn, um der Musik seines Herzens zu folgen.

Bereits 1991 fand er sich mit der Sängerin Constanze Friend zum Duo Friend 'n Fellow zusammen, welches nach weit über 1500 Konzerten und mehr als 100.000 verkauften Tonträgern nzwischen als das erfolgreichstes Projekt dieser Art in Europa gilt. Sie bereisten die Welt von China (Beijing – China Millenium Park) bis zu den USA (New York – World Trade Center) und teilten die Bühne u.a. mit Luther Allison, Ray Charles, Tommy Emmanuel und Al Jarreau.

> www.friendnfellow.de

Von seinem zweiten musikalischen Projekt Hands on Strings, einem seit dem Jahr 2000 bestehenden Duo mit dem Gitarristen Stephan Bormann, erschienen bisher vier CDs. Die beiden Musiker erhielten Einladungen zu renommierten Festivals u.a. in Rom(I), Columbus(USA) und Hamburg.

> www.handsonstrings.com

Seit dem Frühjahr 2012 gibt es zudem das EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET, in welchem er und Reentko (D) gemeinsam mit den Weltstars der Konzertgitarren-Szene Pavel Steidl (CZ) und Zoran Dukic (CRO) eine Brücke zwischen Konzertmusik und modernen Elementen von Worldmusic und Fingerstyle schlagen und welches bereits nach dem Debut-Konzert Einladungen zu renommierten Festivals in aller Welt erhielt. Die Tour zu ihrer Debut-CD "Danza" führte das Quartett u.a. zu Festivals in Mexico, den USA, Frankreich, Serbien, Spanien, der Schweiz, einer Konzertreise durch Kolumbien und in das renommierte Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

> www.europeanguitarquartet.com

Als Lehrer

Thomas Fellow ist Professor für Akustische Gitarre (Konzertmusik, Worldmusic, Jazz, Pop) an der Hochschule für Musik »Carl Maria von Weber« in Dresden. Diese Ausbildung wurde auf seine Initiative hin dort etabliert. Der innovative, zeitgemäße Ansatz einer Verbindung von bestehenden fundamentalen Elementen der klassischen Gitarrenausbildung und der Jazzgitarrenausbildung mit dem Reichtum folkloristischer Einflüsse ist einzigartig im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Zudem leitet er das Seminar »Weltmusik/Improvisation« an der Musikhochschule Weimar und ist gefragter Gastdozent an Universitäten (u.a Capital University Columbus/USA, Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica Granada/Spanien und Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität, Linz/Österreich) und innerhalb verschiedener Festivals in Malaysia, Italien, Österreich, der Schweiz, Tschechien und Deutschland.

> Teaching

Als Komponist und Autor

Konzertante Werke von ihm wurden u.a. uraufgeführt bei den Vogtländischen Musiktagen und dem Berliner Festival für Gitarre und Kammermusik (Fantasie für Gitarre und Streichquartett). Er schrieb auch Filmmusik, z.B. für eine MDR-Fernsehdokumentation über Jose Carreras und erhielt für seine Komposition »9 pm« (für 2/3 Gitarren) den Gellert-Preis (Kunstpreis des Kulturraumes Leipziger Land).

Thomas Fellow ist der Autor einer wegweisenden Schule für die Gitarre als Begleitinstrument. Dieses umfassende Lehrwerk ist im Dezember 2009 bei Schott Music erschienen. Seit Anfang 2016 veröffentlicht er zudem gemeinsam mit SCHOTT MUSIC eine mehrbändige Reihe mit Konzertmusik für Gitarre, die FELLOW GUITAR MUSIC COLLECTION (Band 1 - Medusa, Band 2 Pocket Fantasies, Band 3 - Fingerfood, Band 4 - Recital...)

> FellowGuitarBook

Als Initiator

Thomas Fellow initiierte u.a. das Thüringer Festival Gitarre/Weltmusik (1996) und das String Spring Festival Dresden (seit 2000). Außerdem hob er den European Guitar Award aus der Taufe, welcher 2006 in Dresden erstmalig stattfand und die besten jungen kreativen Gitarristen aus ganz Europa auszeichnet. Dieser Wettbewerb galt bereits nach der Premiere auf Grund seiner hohen Dotierung und der hochkarätigen Zusammensetzung der Jury als herausragend.

Außer bei verschiedenen künstlerischen Wettbewerben wie dem European Guitar Award war er u.a. auch mehrfach Jurymitglied beim Deutschen Musikinstrumentenpreis.

> European Guitar Award

Als Label-Gründer

Gemeinsam mit dem Kardiologen Prof. Dr. Hubert Seggewiß gründete er 2014 das Label DOCTOR HEART MUSIC. Ein erklärtes Ziel des Labels ist es, den Künstlern absolute Freiheit und beste Bedingungen zu gewähren, um ihre Projekte und Aufnahmen optimal zu entwickeln und zu präsentieren. Ein besonderer Focus liegt auf Musik aus den Bereichen Song, Worldmusic, Konzertmusik und Jazz. Grenzgänge sind dabei ebenso willkommen wie ein gewisser "Pop-Appeal". Zu den Künstlern des Labels zählen neben FRIEND `N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS und dem EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET auch vielversprechende Newcomer wie ANTOINE BOYER & SAMUELITO und MISS O'PAQUE.

> www.drheartmusic.com

Auftritte in

New York City (World Trade Center), New Delhi (Ficci Auditorium), Beijing (China Millenium Park), Shanghai (Anting New Town Open Air), St. Petersburg (Glinka Kapelle), Paris (Elyssees Montmartre), London (The 100 Club), Wien (Radiokulturhaus ORF), Amsterdam (Concertgebouw), Warschau (National Philharmonic Hall), Krakow (Wawel), Zürich (Blues&Soul Weekend), Luzern (Lucerne Festival, Blue Balls Festival), Rom (Festival of the Nations), Barcelona (Festival de la Porta Ferrada), Malaysia (Penang Jazz Festival), Monterrey Guitar Festival (Mexico), Kuala Lumpur, Budapest (Budapest Guitar Festival), Rijeka (Kastav Festival, Bratislava (Bratislava Jazz Days)Belo Horizonte, Moskau, Bombay, Calcutta, Madras, Bangalore, Bogota, Cali, Baranquilla, Medellin, Belgrad, Budapest, Prag, Liechtenstein, Wrozlaw, Poznan, Gdynia, Toulouse, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, Orleans, Avignon, Salzburg, Linz, Innsbruck, Basel, Bern, Genf, Göteborg, Kosice, Mikulov, Dubrovnik...

...mit folgenden Orchestern und Musikern:

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester
Orchester mit Solisten der Komischen Oper Berlin
Schweriner Philharmonie
Leipziger Streichquartett
Ensemble Amarcord
Peer Arne Glorvingen
Oscar Andrade
Raul Aliaga
Luther Allison
Tommy Emmanuel
Bernard Allison
Ray Charles
Al Jarreau
Dee Dee Bridgewater
Maceo Parker
Simply Red

Pressestimmen

They are fantastic!


Tommy Emmanuel über Hands on Strings

You knocked me out with your playing!


Bill Evans über Thomas / Friend 'n Fellow

Killing! It absolutely sounds like a whole band!


Tommy Emmanuel über Friend 'n Fellow

Top class guitarist


Times of India

Un guitariste acoustique genial


Cargo de Nuit/France

Sein Spiel ist einfach perfekt, in technischer
   wie in geschmacklicher Hinsicht.


Jazzpodium

Was er auf den sechs Saiten bot, bedarf der Superlative,
   um es auch nur annähernd zu beschreiben


Mitteldeutsche Zeitung

Deux »F« d'exeption


La Republique/France über FNF

Ein Duo von Weltniveau


Welt am Sonntag über FNF

traumwandlerisch, einzigartig


Akustik Gitarre über FNF

Ein Feuerwerk groovender Virtuosität


Süddeutsche Zeitung über FNF

..das soll ihnen erstmal jemand nachmachen.


Jazzpodium über HOS

Und der Hörer badet in ... zeitloser und perfekter Schönheit


Akustik Gitarre HOS

Es fenomenal! Bravo.


Hopkinson Smith über Hands on Strings »Offroad«

Grandios...einzigartig....beneidenswert


Thomas Müller Pering über FNF

Absolutely great. And when I say great, I mean great!


Fred Wesley

The sound of the new century


Luther Allison über FNF

I really enjoy your work


Al Jarreau über FNF