Thomas Fellow

Thomas
Fellow

Thomas Fellow is a musician with an almost inexhaustible supply of innovative energy. He is a first class acoustic guitarist, a breathtaking virtuoso with a signature sound, and is considered one of the best musical collaborators on this instrument.

His was instrumental in developing the groundbreaking ACOUSTIC GUITAR course (concert music, world music, jazz, pop) at the Dresden University of Music and is responsible for the artistic direction of the EUROPEAN GUITAR AWARD.

He is the author of the comprehensive educational book for guitar as an accompanying instrument (FELLOW GUITAR BOOK). As a composer, he has his own edition on Schott Music (Fellow Guitar Music Collection).

Musician

Thomas Fellow studied classical guitar performance at the Hochschule für Musik "Franz Liszt" in Weimar with Monika and Jürgen Rost. During his time as a concert guitarist, he won prizes at various international competitions, performed as a soloist with outstanding orchestras (including the Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Chamber Orchestra, Berlin) and travelled internationally for concerts to India, Brazil, the USA, Russia and across European. Various well-known composers (including Carlo Domeniconi and Jaime Zenamon) dedicated compositions to him and entrusted him with the premiere performance of their works.

Thomas Fellow ended his classical career in 1992 with a successful concert in the Philharmonie Berlin. Since then he has concentrated on his own music and on selected projects. With his two duos FRIEND `N FELLOW and HANDS ON STRINGS as well as the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET (with Zoran Dukic, Pavel Steidl and Reentko Dirks) he has given almost 3000 concerts in over 30 countries. With the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET he has performed in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Moscow's Tchaikovsky Hall and New York's Kaufmann Concert Hall. He was at the Penang Jazz Festival (Malaysia) and in the legendary THE 100 CLUB in London, among other venues, with FRIEND `N FELLOW. Notable performances with the duo HANDS ON STRINGS include the Festival of the Nations in Rome and in the Leipzig Gewandhaus.

Thomas Fellow has shared the stage with legends like Luther Allison, Ray Charles, Al Jarreau and Tommy Emmanuel. In 2018 he returned to the "classical world" at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival performing with world stars Sabine Meyer and The King's Singers in concerts that included works by Mendelssohn.

For several years, Thomas Fellow has been recognised as a composer and author. His works can be found on CDs of well-known artists, heard in concerts worldwide and are taught in over 60 countries through the TRINITY College program. His sheet music is published with Schott Music under the series “Fellow Guitar Music Collection”. Under this collection, "Fellow Guitar Book" written for the guitar as an accompanying instrument, is now considered a standard work.

Since 1992 Thomas Fellow has been an active faculty member, teaching at the Musikhochschule Dresden. There he developed a comprehensive education programme for the acoustic guitar as a classical as well as contemporary instrument. Graduates of this programme include many competition prize winners, scholarship holders and internationally renowned performing artists. The Musikhochschule Dresden is now one of the leading educational institutions for this instrument. In 2018, Thomas Fellow was awarded the Saxon Teaching Prize for this innovative idea.

Thomas Fellow was a guest lecturer for "World Music/Modern Styles" at the Musikhochschule Weimar for many years. He is also a regular guest at universities across the world (eg: Capital University Columbus/USA; Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica Granada /Spain; Anton Bruckner Private University Linz / Austria) and invited to music perform and teach at guitar festivals worldwide.

Apart from his position as Professor at the Dresden University of Music, his activities as a composer, label founder and as a festival organizer, there are three musical projects that he focuses wholeheartedly on:
FRIEND `N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS, EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

Friend n Fellow

In 1991, he and the singer Constanze Friend formed the duo Friend ‘n Fellow. After more than 1500 concerts and more than 100,000 CD sales it is considered the most successful project of its kind in Europe. They have toured the world from China (Beijing – China Millennium Park) to the USA (New York – World Trade Center) and shared the stage with LUTHER ALLISON, RAY CHARLES, TOMMY EMMANUEL and AL JARREAU among others.

Hands on Strings

Thomas founded his second musical project, Hands on Strings, in 2000, in collaboration with guitarist Stephan Bormann. Together they have created a unique blend of Concert Music, World Music and Jazz and released five critically acclaimed albums and received invitations to prestigious festivals in Rome (I), Columbus (USA) und Hamburg (GER).

European Guitar Quartet

Since 2012 he is has collaborated with Reentko (Germany) and two true legends of the classical guitar – Pavel Steidl (Czech Republic) and Zoran Dukić (Croatia) to form the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET. Their music builds bridges between the tradition of the concert instrument guitar and modern sounds of world music and fingerstyle. With their debut album “DANZA”, the quartet played in America, Asia and Europe, including in Mexico, India, France, Spain, Serbia, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, long tours through the USA, Colombia and concerts at the renowned Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Tchaikovsky Hall Moscow and Kaufmann Concert Hall New York City.

They are fantastic!

TOMMY EMMANUEL about HANDS ON STRINGS

 

You knocked me out with your playing!

BILL EVANS about THOMAS / FRIEND ‚N FELLOW

 

Killing! It absolutely sounds like a whole band!

TOMMY EMMANUEL about FRIEND ‚N FELLOW

Composer & Author

Early concert music pieces by Fellow have been premiered at the Vogtland Music Festival and the Berlin Festival for Guitar and Chamber Music (Fantasy for guitar and string quartet). He is also the composer of film scores having written the music for a television documentary about the tenor Jose Carreras. He received the Gellert Prize, the art award of the cultural area of Leipzig, for his composition “9 pm” (for 2 / 3 guitars).

Thomas Fellow is the author of a pioneering method for the guitar as an accompanying instrument. This comprehensive textbook was published by SCHOTT MUSIC in December 2009. Since 2016 he has, in addition, published a multi-volume series of concert music for guitar under SCHOTT MUSIC: the FELLOW GUITAR MUSIC COLLECTION (Volume 1 – Medusa, Volume 2 – Pocket Fantasies, Volume 3 – Fingerfood light, Volume 4 – Children's Corner, Volume 5 – Fingerfood XXL/Volume 1 [2022], volume 6 – Fingerfood XXL/Volume 2 [2023]).

After focusing on creating music just for his own projects, he began composing again for others in 2012 and has subsequently composed more than 200 works for Solo Guitar and smaller Chamber Ensembles with Guitar.
His piece MEDUSA was the catalyst for a profound collaboration with SCHOTT MUSIC resulting in a worldwide resonance and multiple recordings. Since April 2016 he has been publishing a series of sheet music with SCHOTT MUSIC called FELLOW GUITAR MUSIC COLLECTION (Vol. 1- Medusa, Vol.2 – Pocket Fantasies, Vol. 3 – Fingerfood Light, Vol. 4 – Children’s Corner.)
Fellow’s music has been performed in some of the most important concert halls worldwide (Tchaikovsky Hall Moscow, Kaufmann Concert Hall New York, Concertgebouw Amsterdam), played by some of the leading exponents of the instrument (Zoran Dukic, Pavel Steidl, Reentko, Helen Sanderson, Nora Buschmann, Jule Malischke, Takeo Sato, Inoi Ami, Aladdin Haddad).

Some of his easier pieces are part of the current syllabus of the TRINITY COLLEGE LONDON program, which is used for music education in more than 60 countries.

Educator

Thomas Fellow is a professor of acoustic guitar (concert music, world music, jazz, pop) at the “Carl Maria von Weber” University of Music in Dresden, an educational program which Fellow himself established and developed in the early 90s. The innovative, contemporary approach of combining existing fundamental elements of classical and jazz guitar education with the richness of folk influences and new influences from the fingerstyle guitar is unique in the German-speaking world and beyond. This course focuses on creative elements in particular arranging, composing, improvising and accompaniment, and represents a return to the universal musical education prevalent in earlier times (e.g. in the 17th and 18th centuries) in the West, and also prevalent in many current musical cultures.

In 2018, Thomas Fellow was acknowledged by the State of Saxony with the Saxonian Education Award for this innovative idea. The list of his former students is long and includes many internationally very successful concert musicians, competition prize winners and scholarship holders.

In addition, he directs the seminar “World Music / Improvisation” at the Weimar University of Music and is a frequent guest lecturer at universities (including Capital University in Columbus – USA, Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica Granada – Spain and Anton Bruckner University, Linz – Austria) and in various festivals in the USA, Colombia, Mexico, Malaysia, Italy, Austria, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Germany.

With the support of the Ministry for Science and Culture of Saxony, Thomas Fellow and Judith Beckedorf developed a video tutorial (in German) on the subject of "Differential Practicing" during the Corona period.

Entrepreneur

Thomas Fellow initiated Thuringia’s Guitar/World Music Festival (1996) and the String Spring Festival in Dresden which was founded in 2000.

He also scooped the debut EUROPEAN GUITAR AWARD which first took place in Dresden in 2006 and which honors the best young creative guitarists from all over Europe. Due to its high-profile jury, this competition has been exceptionally well regarded since the outset.

In addition to various artistic competition achievements, Fellow was also a jury member at the German Music Instrument Prize..

Record Label

Doctor Heart Music

Together with the cardiologist Prof. Dr. Hubert Seggewiß he founded the record label DOCTOR HEART MUSICin 2014. Their defined goal is it to grant the artists absolute freedom and the optimum conditions to develop and present their projects and recordings at their best. A special focus lies on music out of the following genres: Song, World-music, concert music and Jazz. Experimenting close to musical borderlines is just as welcome as a certain “Pop-Appeal”. Among the artists of DOCTOR HEART MUSIC are established acts like FRIEND ‘N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS and the EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET as well as promising newcomers such as ANTOINE BOYER & SAMUELITO and SÖNKE MEINEN.

Thomas Fellow has played more than 3000 concerts in over 30 countries . He was invited to major Classical Concert Series and Festivals as well as to Jazz Festivals, Blues Festivals, World Music Festivals, Pop Festivals, big TV Events, Radio Broadcasts and countless Guitar Festivals

New York City (World Trade Center/Kaufmann Concert Hall/Buttenwieser Hall) • Chicago (Ravinia Festival) • San Francisco (San Francisco Performing Arts Center) • Beijing (China Millenium Park) • Shanghai (Anting New Town Open Air) • New Delhi (Ficci Auditorium) • Kolkata (International Guitar Festival) • Moscow (Tchaikovsky Hall) • St. Petersburg (Glinka Kapelle) • Paris (Elyssees Montmartre) • London (The 100 Club) • Wien (Radiokulturhaus ORF) • Amsterdam (Concertgebouw) • Warsaw (National Philharmonic Hall) • Krakow (Wawel) • Zurich (Blues & Soul Weekend) • Luzern (Lucerne Festival, Blue Balls Festival) • Rom (Festival of the Nations) • Barcelona (Festival de la Porta Ferrada) • Bogotá (Luis Ángel Arango Recital Hall) • Malaysia (Penang Jazz Festival) • Mexico (Monterrey Guitar Festival) • Kuala Lumpur • Budapest (Budapest Guitar Festival) • Bergen (Bergen Music Festival) • Rijeka (Kastav Festival) • Bratislava (Bratislava Jazz Days) • Houston • Tucson • Belo Horizonte • Mumbai • Madras/Chennai • Bangalore • Medellin • Cali • Baranquilla • Belgrad  Budapest • Prag • Liechtenstein • Wrozlaw • Poznan • Gdynia • Toulouse • Lyon • Marseille • Montpellier • Orleans • Avignon • Salzburg • Linz • Innsbruck • Basel • Bern • Genf • Göteborg • Kosice • Mikulov • Dubrovnik

and almost everywhere in Germany including:
Berlin (Philharmonie, Schauspielhaus, Deutsche Oper, Tempodrom) • Leipzig (Gewandhaus, Oper) • München (Gasteig, Muffathalle, Tollwood Festival) • Hamburg (Laeiszhalle, Fabrik, Große Freiheit) • Düsseldorf (Tonhalle) • Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival • MDR Musiksommer • Leverkusener Jazztage • Kunstfest Weimar • Kulturarena Jena • Beethovenfest Bonn • Leipziger Jazztage

He has performed with the following orchestras and musicians:

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester  •  Orchester mit Solisten der Komischen Oper Berlin  •  Schweriner Philharmonie  •  Leipziger Streichquartett
Sabine Meyer  •  The King’s Singers  •  Ensemble Amarcord
Tommy Emmanuel
Oscar Andrade  •  Raul Aliaga  •  Peer Arne Glorvingen
Luther Allison  •  Bernard Allison  •  Ray Charles  •  Al Jarreau  •  Dee Dee
Bridgewater  •  Maceo Parker  •  Simply Red

Dates

Mai 2024

26 Mai TÜBINGEN

Workshop (Best Acoustics) hos

31 Mai PRAG (CZ)

Club Doupé (no tickets available) fnf

Juni 2024

8 Jun ARNSTADT (D)

Open Air im Prinzenhof fnf

15 Jun NEUSTRELITZ (D)

Open Air Festival Klein Trebbow fnf

26-29 Jun BALATONFÜRED (HU)

Guitar Festival (European Guitar Quartet, Concert+Teaching) tf

28 Jun BALATONFÜRED (HU)

Guitar Festival – Concert European Guitar Quartet tf

30 Jun SAARBRÜCKEN (D)

Open Air "Sonntag ans Schloß" fnf

Juli 2024

5 Jul KUTNA HORA (CZ)

Guitar Festival hos

20 Jul Private Function

no tickets available fnf

29 Jul DRESDEN (D)

Youth Academy (Coaching Differenzielles Üben) tf

30 Jul DRESDEN (D)

Youth Academy (Coaching Differenzielles Üben) tf

August 2024

9 Aug MEININGEN

Festival fnf

10 Aug NORDHAUSEN

Jazzclub fnf

18 Aug BONN (D)

Bundeskunsthalle Sommergarten (11.30 – 14:30) fnf

28 Aug KÜHLUNGSBORN (D)

Gitarrenfestival hos

31 Aug BREMEN (D)

Gitarrenfestival hos

September 2024

1 Sep BREMEN (D)

Gitarrenfestival (Kurs) hos

6 Sep HALLE/SAALE (D)

Objekt 5 fnf

21-28 Sep TOSKANA (I)

Kurs Stimme/Gitarre (komplett) fnf

Oktober 2024

11 Okt MÜNSTER (D)

Hot Jazz Club fnf

25 Okt TYCHY (PL)

Guitar Festival fnf

28 Okt GROSSRÖHRSDORF (Sachsen – D)

Schulkonzert "Welt der Gitarre" hos

30-3 Okt TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

November 2024

8 Nov KASSEL (D)

Theaterstübchen fnf

9 Nov KELLINGHUSEN (D)

tba fnf

14-17 Nov TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

16 Nov WERNIGERODE (D)

Konzerthaus mit dem EGQ tf

29 Nov LÜDENSCHEID (D)

Jazzclub fnf

30 Nov FRÖNDENBERG/RUHR (D)

Kettenschmiede fnf

Januar 2025

18 Jan WERNIGERODE (D)

Konzerthaus fnf

25 Jan WERMELSKIRCHEN (D)

Kattwinkelsche Fabrik fnf

Februar 2025

7 Feb VECHTA (D)

Gulfhaus – Doppelkonzert mit Jule Malischke fnf

21 Feb NORDENHAM (D)

Jahnhalle fnf

März 2025

13-23 Mä TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

29 Mä BERLIN (D)

Petruskirche fnf

Juli 2025

26 Jul HERSBRUCK (D)

Open Air fnf

August 2025

24-31 Aug MONNEREN (F)

Kurs Stimme/Gitarre (komplett) fnf

September 2025

27 Sep LEIPZIG (D)

Moritzbastei fnf

Oktober 2025

10 Okt KÜHLUNGSBORN (D)

Kunsthalle fnf

11 Okt SCHWERIN (D)

Speicher fnf

November 2025

8 Nov SAALFELD (D)

Jazzfestival fnf

Equipment

Classical Guitar (Garcia Model) by MAARTEN VAN GUYSE
vanguyseguitars.com

LARRIVEE – LSV 11
Steelstring (2007)
with a L.R.Baggs I-mix-system

YAIRI CY 62 CE
Nylonstring (1990)
with a stereo pickup system, which can split between bass strings and trebbles – unfortunately no longer available

NATIONAL DUOLIAN
(1934)

THOMAS FELLOW is part of the D’Addario family and uses D’Addario strings exclusively.

daddario_logo

CABLES

VOVOX cables
Supported by VOVOX

 

AMPLIFIER
SEYMORE DUNCAN "TARA" ACOUSTIC AMP

 

Additional Effects (Reverb)
Lexicon „ALEX“

 

STUDIO
For recordings he also uses several other guitars, for example:
National: Luther Allisons 1934 National Duolian (an absolute precious gift)
Baritone: Larrivee Baritone BT 60 (supported by Best Acoustics)

Contact

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com
en_GBEN

Thomas Fellow

Thomas
Fellow

Thomas Fellow ist ein Musiker mit einer fast unerschöpflichen innovativen Energie. Er ist ein akustischer Gitarrist ersten Ranges, ein atemberaubender Virtuose mit unverwechselbarer Handschrift und gilt als einer der besten musikalischen Begleiter auf diesem Instrument.

Sein Name ist verbunden mit dem Aufbau der wegweisenden Ausbildung AKUSTISCHE GITARRE (Konzertmusik, Worldmusic, Jazz, Pop) an der Hochschule für Musik in Dresden und der künstlerischen Leitung des EUROPEAN GUITAR AWARD.

Er ist Verfasser eines umfassenden Lehrwerkes für die Gitarre als Begleitinstrument („FELLOWGUITARBOOK“) und Komponist mit einer eigenen Edition bei dem renommierten Verlag Schott Music (Fellow Guitar Music Collection).

Musiker

Thomas Fellow studierte Konzertgitarre an der Hochschule für Musik „Franz Liszt“ in Weimar bei Monika und Jürgen Rost. Während seiner Zeit als Konzertgitarrist wurde er Preisträger verschiedener internationaler Wettbewerbe, spielte als Solist mit herausragenden Orchestern (u.a. dem Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester Berlin) und konzertierte in Indien, Brasilien, den USA, Russland und vielen europäischen Metropolen. Verschiedene namhafte Komponisten widmeten ihm Kompositionen und übertrugen ihm die Uraufführung dieser Werke (darunter Carlo Domeniconi und Jaime Zenamon).

Seine klassische Laufbahn beendete er 1992 mit einem erfolgreichen Konzert in der Philharmonie Berlin. Seitdem konzentriert er sich auf seine eigene Musik in ausgewählten Projekten. Mit seinen beiden Duos FRIEND `N FELLOW und HANDS ON STRINGS sowie dem EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET (mit Zoran Dukic, Pavel Steidl und Reentko Dirks) spielte er inzwischen fast 3000 Konzerte in über 30 Ländern. Mit dem EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET spielte er u.a. im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, der Moskauer Tschaikowski Hall oder der New Yorker Kaufmann Concert Hall mit FRIEND `N FELLOW u.a. beim Penang Jazz Festival (Malaysia) und im legendären THE 100 CLUB in London und mit seinem Duo HANDS ON STRINGS in Rom beim Festival of the Nations und im Leipziger Gewandhaus.

Er teilte die Bühne mit Legenden wie Luther Allison, Ray Charles, Al Jarreau oder Tommy Emmanuel. Und 2018 kehrte er beim Schleswig- Holstein Musikfestival nochmals ins „klassische Metier“ zurück und musizierte mit den Weltstars Sabine Meyer und The King’s Singers unter anderem Werke von Mendelssohn.

Seit ein paar Jahren tritt Thomas Fellow auch verstärkt als Komponist und Autor in Erscheinung. Einige seiner Kompositionen finden sich bereits auf CDs namhafter Interpreten, werden weltweit in Konzerten gespielt oder durch das Programm des TRINITY College in über 60 Ländern unterrichtet. Seine Edition „Fellow Guitar Music Collection“ wird ebenso wie sein Standard-Werk für die Gitarre als Begleitinstrument „Fellow Guitar Book“ bei Schott Music verlegt.

Seit 1992 lehrt Thomas Fellow an der Musikhochschule Dresden. Innerhalb weniger Jahre entwickelte er die Idee einer universellen und zeitgemäßen Ausbildung für Gitarre, welche inzwischen mit vielen Wettbewerbspreisträgern, Stipendiaten und international konzertierenden Künstlern zu den führenden Ausbildungsstätten für dieses Instrument überhaupt zählt. Im Jahr 2018 wurde Thomas Fellow für diese innovative Idee mit dem Sächsischen Lehrpreis ausgezeichnet.

Thomas Fellow war langjähriger Gastdozent für „Weltmusik/Moderne Stile“ an der Musikhochschule Weimar und wird regelmäßig an Hochschulen (z.B. Capital University Columbus / USA; Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica Granada /Spanien; Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz / Österreich) und zu renommierten Festivals weltweit eingeladen.

Neben seiner Professur an der Musikhochschule Dresden, seinen Aktivitäten als Komponist, Label-Gründer und Festival-Organisator fokussiert er sich mit ganzem Herzen auf seine drei musikalischen Projekte:
FRIEND `N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS, EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

Friend n Fellow

Bereits 1991 fand er sich mit der Sängerin CONSTANZE FRIEND zum Duo FRIEND ‚N FELLOW zusammen, welches nach weit über 1500 Konzerten und mehr als 100.000 verkauften Tonträgern inzwischen als das erfolgreichste Projekt dieser Art in Europa gilt. Sie bereisten die Welt von China (Beijing – China Millenium Park) bis zu den USA (New York – World Trade Center) und teilten die Bühne u.a. mit LUTHER ALLISON, RAY CHARLES, TOMMY EMMANUEL und AL JARREAU.

Hands on Strings

Von seinem zweiten musikalischen Projekt HANDS ON STRINGS, einem seit dem Jahr 2000 bestehenden Duo mit dem Gitarristen STEPHAN BORMANN, erschienen bisher fünf CDs. Die beiden Musiker mit ihrer einzigartigen Melange aus Konzertmusik, Worldmusic und Jazz erhielten Einladungen zu renommierten Festivals u.a. in Rom (I), Columbus (USA) und Hamburg.

European Guitar Quartet

Seit dem Frühjahr 2012 gibt es zudem das EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET, in welchem er und Reentko (D) gemeinsam mit den Weltstars der Konzertgitarren-Szene Pavel Steidl (CZ) und Zoran Dukić (CRO) eine Brücke zwischen Konzertmusik und modernen Elementen von Worldmusic und Fingerstyle schlagen und welches bereits nach dem Debut-Konzert Einladungen zu renommierten Festivals in aller Welt erhielt. Die Tour zu ihrer Debut-CD „Danza“ führte das Quartett u.a. zu Festivals in Mexico, Indien, Frankreich, Serbien, Spanien, Polen, Belgien, Norwegen, der Schweiz, längeren Konzertreisen durch Kolumbien und die USA, in das renommierte Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, den Moskauer Tschaikowski-Saal und die Kaufmann Concert Hall in New York.

They are fantastic!

TOMMY EMMANUEL about HANDS ON STRINGS

 

You knocked me out with your playing!

BILL EVANS about THOMAS / FRIEND ‚N FELLOW

 

Killing! It absolutely sounds like a whole band!

TOMMY EMMANUEL about FRIEND ‚N FELLOW

Komponist & Autor

Frühe konzertante Werke von ihm wurden u.a. uraufgeführt bei den Vogtländischen Musiktagen und dem Berliner Festival für Gitarre und Kammermusik (Fantasie für Gitarre und Streichquartett mit Nora Buschmann als Solistin). Er schrieb auch Filmmusik, z.B. für eine MDR-Fernsehdokumentation über Jose Carreras und erhielt für seine Komposition »9 pm« (für zwei Gitarren) den GELLERT-PREIS (Kunstpreis des Kulturraumes Leipziger Land).

Thomas Fellow ist der Autor einer wegweisenden Schule für die Gitarre als Begleitinstrument. Dieses umfassende Lehrwerk ist im Dezember 2009 bei SCHOTT MUSIC erschienen. Seit Anfang 2016 veröffentlicht er zudem gemeinsam mit SCHOTT MUSIC eine mehrbändige Reihe mit Konzertmusik für Gitarre, die FELLOW GUITAR MUSIC COLLECTION (Band 1 – Medusa, Band 2 – Pocket Fantasies, Band 3 – Fingerfood light, Band 4 – Children’s Corner, Band 5 – Fingerfood XXL/Volume 1 [2022], Band 6 – Fingerfood XXL/Volume 2 [2023]).

Nachdem er sich lange Zeit lediglich auf das Komponieren für seine eigenen Projekte konzentrierte, begann er 2012 mit dem Schreiben von Stücken für Andere und hat inzwischen mehr als 200 Werke für Sologitarre und kleinere Ensembles mit Gitarre fertiggestellt, welche nach und nach veröffentlicht werden sollen.
Sein Stück MEDUSA war die Initialzündung einer umfassenden Zusammenarbeit mit dem renommierten Verlag SCHOTT MUSIC. Es erhielt weltweite Aufmerksamkeit und wurde bereits vielfach auf Videos und CDs veröffentlicht.
Seine Musik wurde inzwischen in einigen der bedeutendsten Konzertsälen der Welt aufgeführt (Tschaikowski Saal Moskau, Kaufmann Concert Hall New York City, Concertgebouw Amsterdam), gespielt von herausragenden Protagonisten des Instruments (u.a. Zoran Dukić, Pavel Steidl, Reentko, Helen Sanderson, Nora Buschmann, Takeo Sato, Jule Malischke, Inoi Ami, Aladdin Haddad).

Einige seiner leichteren Stücke sind Teil des aktuellen Unterrichts-Programmes des TRINITY COLLEGE LONDON, welches in über 60 Ländern der Welt den Musikunterricht bestimmt.

Lehrer

Thomas Fellow ist Professor für AKUSTISCHE GITARRE (Konzertmusik, Worldmusic, Jazz, Pop) an der Hochschule für Musik »Carl Maria von Weber« in Dresden. Diese Ausbildung wurde auf seine Initiative hin bereits Anfang der 90er Jahre dort etabliert. Der innovative, zeitgemäße Ansatz einer Verbindung von bestehenden fundamentalen Elementen der klassischen Gitarrenausbildung und der Jazzgitarrenausbildung mit dem Reichtum folkloristischer Einflüsse und Aspekten des modernen Fingerstyle ist einzigartig im deutschsprachigen Raum und darüber hinaus. Zudem setzt dieses Studium auf kreative Elemente und stellt mit den Themenkreisen Arrangieren, Komponieren, Improvisieren und Begleiten gewissermaßen eine Rückbesinnung auf die universelle Musikerausbildung in früheren Zeiten (z.B. im 17./18. Jahrhundert) und in vielen aktuellen Musikkulturen dar.

Im Jahr 2018 wurde Thomas Fellow für diese innovative Idee mit dem Sächsischen Lehrpreis ausgezeichnet. Die Liste seiner ehemaligen Studenten ist lang und enthält viele international sehr erfolgreich konzertierende Musiker, Wettbewerbspreisträger und Stipendiaten.

Zudem leitet er das Seminar »Weltmusik/Improvisation« an der Musikhochschule Weimar und ist gefragter Gastdozent an Universitäten (u.a. CAPITAL UNIVERSITY Columbus/USA, REAL CONSERVATORIO SUPERIOR DE MUSICA Granada/Spanien und ANTON BRUCKNER PRIVATUNIVERSITÄT, Linz/Österreich) und innerhalb verschiedener Festivals in den USA, Kolumbien, Mexico, Malaysia, Italien, Österreich, der Schweiz, Tschechien und Deutschland.

Mit Unterstützung durch das Sächsische Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur erarbeitete Thomas Fellow während der Corona-Zeit gemeinsam mit Judith Beckedorf ein Video-Tutorial zum Thema „Differenzielles Üben“ (nur in Deutscher Sprache).

Initiator

Thomas Fellow initiierte u.a. das Thüringer FESTIVAL GITARRE/WELTMUSIK (1996) und das STRING SPRING FESTIVAL Dresden (seit 2000). Außerdem hob er den EUROPEAN GUITAR AWARD aus der Taufe, welcher 2006 in Dresden erstmalig stattfand und die besten jungen kreativen Gitarristen aus ganz Europa auszeichnet. Dieser Wettbewerb galt bereits nach der Premiere auf Grund seiner hohen Dotierung und der hochkarätigen Zusammensetzung der Jury als herausragend.

Außer bei verschiedenen künstlerischen Wettbewerben wie dem European Guitar Award war er u.a. auch mehrfach Jurymitglied beim DEUTSCHEN MUSIKINSTRUMENTENPREIS.

Record Label

Doctor Heart Music

Gemeinsam mit dem Kardiologen Prof. Dr. Hubert Seggewiß gründete er 2014 das Label DOCTOR HEART MUSIC. Ein erklärtes Ziel des Labels ist es, den Künstlern absolute Freiheit und beste Bedingungen zu gewähren, um ihre Projekte und Aufnahmen optimal zu entwickeln und zu präsentieren. Ein besonderer Focus liegt auf Musik aus den Bereichen Song, Worldmusic, Konzertmusik und Jazz. Grenzgänge sind dabei ebenso willkommen wie ein gewisser „Pop-Appeal“. Zu den Künstlern des Labels zählen neben FRIEND `N FELLOW, HANDS ON STRINGS und dem EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET auch vielversprechende Newcomer wie ANTOINE BOYER & SAMUELITO und SÖNKE MEINEN.

Seit seiner Jugend spielte Thomas etwa 3000 Konzerte in über 30 Ländern weltweit. Dabei trat er sowohl in namhaften klassischen Konzertreihen auf als auch bei Jazzfestivals, Bluesfestivals, Weltmusikfestivals, Pop-Festivals, bedeutenden TV-Events und Radio-Sendungen sowie unzähligen Gitarrenfestivals

New York City (World Trade Center/Kaufmann Concert Hall/Buttenwieser Hall) • Chicago (Ravinia Festival) • San Francisco (San Francisco Performing Arts Center) • Beijing (China Millenium Park) • Shanghai (Anting New Town Open Air) • New Delhi (Ficci Auditorium) • Kolkata (International Guitar Festival) • Moscow (Tchaikovsky Hall) • St. Petersburg (Glinka Kapelle) • Paris (Elyssees Montmartre) • London (The 100 Club) • Wien (Radiokulturhaus ORF) • Amsterdam (Concertgebouw) • Warsaw (National Philharmonic Hall) • Krakow (Wawel) • Zurich (Blues & Soul Weekend) • Luzern (Lucerne Festival, Blue Balls Festival) • Rom (Festival of the Nations) • Barcelona (Festival de la Porta Ferrada) • Bogotá (Luis Ángel Arango Recital Hall) • Malaysia (Penang Jazz Festival) • Mexico (Monterrey Guitar Festival) • Kuala Lumpur • Budapest (Budapest Guitar Festival) • Bergen (Bergen Music Festival) • Rijeka (Kastav Festival) • Bratislava (Bratislava Jazz Days) • Houston • Tucson • Belo Horizonte • Mumbai • Madras/Chennai • Bangalore • Medellin • Cali • Baranquilla • Belgrad  Budapest • Prag • Liechtenstein • Wrozlaw • Poznan • Gdynia • Toulouse • Lyon • Marseille • Montpellier • Orleans • Avignon • Salzburg • Linz • Innsbruck • Basel • Bern • Genf • Göteborg • Kosice • Mikulov • Dubrovnik

und nahezu überall in Deutschland inklusive:
Berlin (Philharmonie, Schauspielhaus, Deutsche Oper, Tempodrom) • Leipzig (Gewandhaus, Oper) • München (Gasteig, Muffathalle, Tollwood Festival) • Hamburg (Laeiszhalle, Fabrik, Große Freiheit) • Düsseldorf (Tonhalle) • Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival • MDR Musiksommer • Leverkusener Jazztage • Kunstfest Weimar • Kulturarena Jena • Beethovenfest Bonn • Leipziger Jazztage

Er hat Konzerte mit den folgenden Orchestern und Musikern gegeben

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Kammerorchester  •  Orchester mit Solisten der Komischen Oper Berlin  •  Schweriner Philharmonie  •  Leipziger Streichquartett
Sabine Meyer  •  The King’s Singers  •  Ensemble Amarcord
Tommy Emmanuel
Oscar Andrade  •  Raul Aliaga  •  Peer Arne Glorvingen
Luther Allison  •  Bernard Allison  •  Ray Charles  •  Al Jarreau  •  Dee Dee
Bridgewater  •  Maceo Parker  •  Simply Red

Dates

Juli 2024

20 Jul Private Function

no tickets available fnf

29 Jul DRESDEN (D)

Youth Academy (Coaching Differenzielles Üben) tf

30 Jul DRESDEN (D)

Youth Academy (Coaching Differenzielles Üben) tf

August 2024

9 Aug MEININGEN

Festival fnf

10 Aug NORDHAUSEN

Jazzclub fnf

18 Aug BONN (D)

Bundeskunsthalle Sommergarten (11.30 – 14:30) fnf

28 Aug KÜHLUNGSBORN (D)

Gitarrenfestival hos

31 Aug BREMEN (D)

Gitarrenfestival hos

September 2024

1 Sep BREMEN (D)

Gitarrenfestival (Kurs) hos

6 Sep HALLE/SAALE (D)

Objekt 5 fnf

21-28 Sep TOSKANA (I)

Kurs Stimme/Gitarre (komplett) fnf

Oktober 2024

11 Okt MÜNSTER (D)

Hot Jazz Club fnf

25 Okt TYCHY (PL)

Guitar Festival fnf

28 Okt GROSSRÖHRSDORF (Sachsen – D)

Schulkonzert "Welt der Gitarre" hos

30-3 Okt TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

31 Okt RAVENSBURG (D)

Großer Festsaal Weißenau – European Guitar Quartet tf

November 2024

1 Nov RAVENSBURG (D)

Masterclasses (European Guitar Quartet) tf

7 Nov LEIPZIG (D)

Messe (no tickets available) fnf

8 Nov KASSEL (D)

Theaterstübchen fnf

9 Nov KELLINGHUSEN (D)

tba fnf

11-17 Nov TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

12 Nov PRAG (CZ)

Doupe (European Guitar Quartet presented by Metronome) tf

13 Nov PRAG (CZ)

Doupe (European Guitar Quartet presented by Metronome) tf

16 Nov WERNIGERODE (D)

Konzerthaus mit dem EGQ tf

29 Nov LÜDENSCHEID (D)

Jazzclub fnf

30 Nov FRÖNDENBERG/RUHR (D)

Kettenschmiede fnf

Januar 2025

11 Jan GÖRLITZ (D)

Apollo Theater hos

18 Jan WERNIGERODE (D)

Konzerthaus fnf

25 Jan WERMELSKIRCHEN (D)

Kattwinkelsche Fabrik fnf

30-2 Jan CARDIFF (GB)

Masterclasses Royal Welsh College Of Music (tbc) tf

Februar 2025

7 Feb VECHTA (D)

Gulfhaus – Doppelkonzert mit Jule Malischke fnf

21 Feb NORDENHAM (D)

Jahnhalle fnf

28 Feb SAALFELD (D)

Schier Optik hos

März 2025

12 Mä LEIPZIG (D)

Messe (Eröffnung – no tickets available) fnf

13-23 Mä TOUR ZUR NEUEN CD – EUROPEAN GUITAR QUARTET

FOURTUNE – TOUR TBA tf

14 Mä EINBECK (D)

Esel (European Guitar Quartet) tf

15 Mä BAD RODACH (D)

Gitarrenfestival (European Guitar Quartet) tf

29 Mä BERLIN (D)

Petruskirche fnf

April 2025

25-30 Apr YEREVAN (ARMENIA)

Masterclasses and Lectures and premiers planned tf

Juli 2025

15-19 Jul PETRER (SPAIN)

Festival with European Guitar Quartet (tbc) tf

26 Jul HERSBRUCK (D)

Open Air fnf

August 2025

24-31 Aug MONNEREN (F)

Kurs Stimme/Gitarre (komplett) fnf

September 2025

27 Sep LEIPZIG (D)

Moritzbastei fnf

Oktober 2025

10 Okt KÜHLUNGSBORN (D)

Kunsthalle fnf

11 Okt SCHWERIN (D)

Speicher fnf

November 2025

8 Nov SAALFELD (D)

Jazzfestival fnf

15 Nov BAD WÜNNENBERG

Aatalhaus fnf

19-30 Nov CHINA

Tour Hands On Strings (by Fingerstyle China – dates tba) hos

Dezember 2025

6 Dez FRÖNDENBERG/RUHR (D)

Kettenschmiede hos

Equipment

Klassische Gitarre (Garcia Model) von MAARTEN VAN GUYSE
vanguyseguitars.com

LARRIVEE – LSV 11
Steelstring (2007)
mit einem L.R.Baggs I-mix-system

YAIRI CY 62 CE
Nylonstring (1990)
mit Stereo-Tonabnehmersystem, das zwischen Basssaiten und Höhen splitten kann – leider nicht mehr erhältlich.

NATIONAL DUOLIAN
(1934)

Thomas Fellow spielt D‘Addario Saiten exklusiv.

daddario_logo

CABLES

VOVOX cables
Unterstützt von VOVOX

 

VERSTÄRKER
SEYMORE DUNCAN „TARA“ AKUSTIKVERSTÄRKER

 

Zusätzliche Effekte (Hall)
Lexicon „ALEX“

 

STUDIO
Für Aufnahmen verwende ich auch mehrere andere Gitarren, zum Beispiel:
National: Luther Allisons 1934 National Duolian (ein absolut unbezahlbar Geschenk)
Baritone: Larrivee Baritone BT 60 (unterstützt by Best Acoustics)

Kontakt

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com
de_DEDE